Live updates: Roe v. Wade decision and abortion rights news


Twenty two attorneys general reaffirmed their commitment to expanding access to abortion care in their states in a joint statement issued Monday.

The coalition – comprised of the attorneys general of New York California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington – said that “when it comes to abortion care, it’s your body and your right to choose.”

“Nobody else gets to make those decisions,” the statement added.

The officials said “broad access to abortion remains protected in states that recognize reproductive freedom,” including in their states.

“For those unable to make the journey, laws banning abortion in their home states will lead to poorer health outcomes and reduced socioeconomic opportunities,” they said.

“Those harms will fall disproportionately on people of color and people with fewer resources, further perpetuating our nation’s historical inequities,” they continued.


Read More: Live updates: Roe v. Wade decision and abortion rights news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments